Skip navigation

Speaker announcement | Updated Forum Program | Only 100 tickets left

Hello everyone. February has arrived, bringing us closer to the highly anticipated 2024 North Australia Savanna Fire Forum, set to kick off on Tuesday, 20th February, 2024 on Larrakia Country. 

We are proud to announce an impressive speaker lineup of climate leaders, fire managers and carbon farmers who will be at the Forum, these include: 

  • Agneta Puhakka, Associate Director, Commodities, Trade & Carbon, Commonwealth Bank
  • Aidan Joseph, NAFI
  • Alan Andersen, Prof. Research, CDU’s Research Institute for the Environment and Livelihoods (RIEL)
  • Andrew Edwards, Research Fellow, CDU’s Darwin Centre for Bushfire Research (DCBR)
  • Andrew Morton, Fire Program Manager, Kimberley Land Council (KLC)
  • Andrew Peckham, Chief District Ranger, NT Parks and Wildlife, Northern Territory Government
  • Ben Kaethner, Acting Manager – Land Manager, Central Land Council
  • Barry Hunter, Acting CEO, North Australian Indigenous Land and Sea Management Alliance (NAILSMA)
  • Casey Bruton, Operations Manager, Industry Skills Advisory Council NT (ISACNT)
  • Cassandra Stevens, Director, Kullilli Bulloo River Aboriginal Corporation
  • Cathy Goonack, Director, ICIN & Chairperson, Wunambal Gaambera Aboriginal Corporation
  • Cathy White, Deputy CEO for Business & Workforce, NT Government
  • Chris Dean, Fire and carbon expert
  • Cissy Gore-Birch, Co-Chair, ICIN & Co-Chair, Balanggarra Aboriginal Corporation
  • Daisy Goodwin, Project Manager, Aboriginal Economic Development unit, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, WA Government
  • Daniel Chapman, Rangelands and Nature Manager, Australian Agricultural Company
  • Debbie Symonds, CEO Olkola Aboriginal Corporation
  • Dion Creek, CEO, Cape York Land Council
  • Dr Dean Yibarbuk, Co-Chair, ICIN & Chair, Warddeken Land Management
  • Dr Geoff Lipsett-Moore, Natural Climate Solutions Specialist, The Nature Conservancy Australia
  • Dr Niki Teunissen, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, School of Biological Sciences, Monash University
  • Dr Taegan Calnan, CDU
  • Ella Rudland, Carbon Project Manager, KLC
  • Gabrielle Davidson, Environmental Consultant
  • Jarrad Holmes, representing ICIN
  • Jennifer Ansell, CEO Arnhem Land Fire Abatement Northern Territory
  • John Brisbin, Scientific Support Officer, Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council
  • John Prescott, Principal Program Officer, Land Restoration Fund, Qld Government
  • Julien Gastaldi, Maki Planet Systems
  • Joe Martin-Jard, CEO, Northern Land Council
  • Kamaljit K Sangha, Associate Professor, CDU
  • Katie Stephenson, Head of Corporate, Northern Territory Marsh Insurance
  • Kerry Crosbie, NAFI
  • Kenneth Baulch, Senior Policy Officer, Environment Division, Office of Climate Change, Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security, Northern Territory Government
  • Kristina Koenig, Conservation Strategy & Economic Development Manager, Wilinggin Aboriginal Corporation
  • Marta Yebra, ANU
  • Matt Salmon, Chief Operating Officer, Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation
  • Marnie Lassen, ORRU Carbon Standard
  • Melissa Sinclair, General Manager, APN Cape York
  • Michael Walters, Senior Lecturer, Batchelor Institute
  • Nathaniel Staniford, Assistant Director Regions, Bushfires NT
  • Neville Gulay Gulay, ICIN Board Director & Arafura Swamp Rangers Aboriginal Corporation (ASRAC)
  • Patrice Weber, CDU
  • Peter Jacklyn, CDU
  • Prof. Alan Andersen, Research, CDU’s Research Institute for the Environment and Livelihoods (RIEL)
  • Richard Crabbe, CDU
  • Rohan Fisher, North Australian fire scientist, CDU (pictured above)
  • Samantha Murray, Deputy CEO, Indigenous Desert Alliance
  • Sam Johnston, International Savanna Fire Management Initiative (ISFMI)
  • Sarah Legge, Environmental Consultant
  • Sarah Parriman, ICIN Director & Deputy CEO Kimberley Land Council
  • Sherie Bruce, PhD Scholar, Managing Director Culture to Country Consulting, ICIN Cultural Advisor
  • Skye Glenday, Co-CEO, Climate Friendly
  • Suzanne Thompson, ICIN Director & Managing Director Yambangku Aboriginal Culture Heritage & Tourism Development Aboriginal Corporation
  • Tammy Hunter, Indigenous Engagement Lead for Climate Services for Agriculture, Bureau Of Meteorology
  • The Hon. Kate Worden MLABC, Minister for Environment, Climate Change, Water Security, Northern Territory Government
  • Tyronne Garstone, CEO, Kimberley Land Council

Stay tuned for more speaker updates! We also invite you to view our recently updated Forum program, and encourage you to act now and purchase your Forum ticket as there are only 100 spots remaining. 

Check out the Indigenous organisations presenting at the Forum:

We thank our valued sponsors for their contributions

Gold sponsors:  

Silver sponsors: 

Bronze sponsors: 

Limited sponsorship opportunities are still available for organisations that support our values and purpose; the closing date for sponsorship is 12 February 2024. View our prospectus and get in touch with the ICIN events team if you would like to partner with us on Australia's leading savanna fire event. 

Share Tweet